A nod to op art?

img_0600

opart2

I think my latest make has a definite 60’s vibe.  The swirly monochrome print reminds me of the abundance of Op Art inspired clothing around in the middle of that decade.

Op Art or Optical Art, pioneered by artists in the 1960’s, created the optical illusion of movement through the use of pattern and line, often in high contrast black and white.  Aiming to achieve a disorientating effect on the eye, Op Art featured in the work of major fashion designers of that period. Popularity spread to the high street with the result that for a short time every article of clothing in black  and white was likely to be given the Op Art label!

Anyway back to my make …

This Girl Charlee UK cotton jersey fabric caught my eye and I snapped it up during a 20% discount offer so it was a real bargain buy.  At the time I didn’t know what I was going to make and was less certain when the fabric arrived.  It is very lightweight and being 100% cotton, the absence of lycra means it has little recovery when stretched.

img_0597

After a bit of dithering I opted to make a Sew Over It  Molly top from their E book My Capsule Wardrobe: City Break as I thought this would complement the fabric design and suit the fabric type.  I’ve made two dress versions of the Molly pattern, both of which I love as they fit me really well.  They were quick and easy makes and needed no pattern adjustments.

Making the top proved to be a similarly straightforward and speedy experience.  Because of the lightness of the fabric I decided to use black ponte roma for the neckband to give it a bit more stability.  This turned out to be a good decision as far as the sewing was concerned and I think it looks quite effective too. (Fortunately you don’t see the white stitching line from the outside!).

img_0604

Success? – the addition of black sleeve cuffs would have been a nice feature which I should have thought about at the time and the hem is maybe a bit wavy and perhaps a bit too floaty.  However,  overall I’m pretty pleased with this addition to my handmade wardrobe.

img_0601

I think I’ll wear this top a lot but maybe not to the pub because of the possible disorientating effect on the viewer!

opart1

Author: sewdalriada

Hello I'm Janet and have recently rediscovered my passion for sewing. I live in the Cairngorms National Park in the small village of Carrbridge. I learned to sew when I was very young, simply by watching my mum and other family members as they went about creating beautiful garments.

One thought on “A nod to op art?”

Leave a Reply

