Sew my Style – January

The Sew my Style project is the brainchild of Alex Bartholomew over at  Bluebird Fabrics. Those of us who signed up get to tackle a specific pattern and make a set garment each month during 2017.

 

img_0393

January’s make was the Toaster Sweater #2, a Sew House Seven pattern.  I was quite excited at the prospect of making this as it is very much my kind of top!

img_0383

I opted for a boiled wool jersey from Fabworks Online. The fabric has a cosy feel to it and has quite a bit of body, a definite plus in guarding against a sagging neckline!  Most importantly it has enough stretch, is incredibly easy to sew with and therefore a good fabric choice for the pattern.

img_0575

Putting together the PDF pattern pieces was straightforward enough with everything matching together well.  I traced off the stuck together pattern on to  swedish tracing paper which is amazing stuff to use.  I cut the pattern without alteration in size small which I think equates to a UK size 10.

img_0379

The pattern instructions were easy to follow and all in all it was a straightforward make.  I used a sewing machine rather than an overlocker and sewed a narrow zigzag stitch throughout rather than doing the recommended double stitching.

I am very pleased with how the neckline has turned out and my top stitching around the hem looks quite professional.  I’m especially chuffed with the mitred edges to the side vents AND I’ve learned a new skill!

I just love this top. I’ve been wearing it non stop over the last week.  It’s a very toasty toaster indeed and I’ll definitely be making more.

All of us participating in Sew My Style post pictures of our makes on Instagram on or around the last Sunday of each month.  The wide array of January Toaster Sweaters was just wonderful, with a lot of imagination, pattern hacking and unusual fabrics on display.  I especially liked the Harris tweed one by #jojosewsalot and the tunic length version by #morrissews.  Check them out on Instagram.

Well it’s a cold, wet, dark day here, I need to wear something warm and cheery so I’m going to take my toaster of its hanger!

img_0559

 

Author: sewdalriada

Hello I'm Janet and have recently rediscovered my passion for sewing. I live in the Cairngorms National Park in the small village of Carrbridge. I learned to sew when I was very young, simply by watching my mum and other family members as they went about creating beautiful garments.

2 thoughts on “Sew my Style – January”

Leave a Reply

